top of page
  • meganmakesthings

Oatmeal Waffles

Updated: Feb 10, 2019


photo needed

Recipe

1 cup of oatmeal 1 1/2 cups flour 1 T baking powder 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon 1/4 t salt 6 T butter, melted 2 T brown sugar 2 eggs 1 1/2 cups milk vanilla to taste

Mix oatmeal, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Mix butter, brown sugar, eggs, milk, and vanilla separately. Mix two bowls together.


Cook in a waffle iron.


My Notes


This recipe makes enough waffles for about four people. I have halved it and had a good number of waffles for two people and even quartered it when I'm the only one who wants waffles!


It's a pretty heavy meal, so expect to not eat lunch or to have a late/light lunch if you have these for breakfast.


You can add chocolate chips if you want some extra tastiness! I often eat them plain when I add chocolate chips.

Serve with maple syrup or ice cream :)


Story



Edit: This is my mom's recipe and is actually unrelated to the oatmeal pancake recipe. it is my dad's favorite recipe, however.


This is the recipe my family almost always makes when we have waffles together! Ideally, these are made at the table, so they can be enjoyed as they are made. It's great for a long family breakfast. My family's waffle iron has four quarters to a waffle, so with a family of four, we each got one quarter at a time until everyone was full. With more people, you have to wait longer between waffles.


My mom has branched out to other waffle recipes (and another waffle maker), so you'll likely have other waffles when visiting my parents' bed and breakfast on Waffle Wednesday. My wife also prefers a lighter kind of waffle to these, so this has become something I either make for myself or for myself and guests.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page